A Simple Seed

When I was six years old I brought home a tree from my Cub Scout meeting. We were told to plant them in our backyard and that some years later we would be able to enjoy the shade they made. At a very young age I stood above the tree and did not believe that it would ever be taller than me. Fifteen years later, I am wrong.

Diligence is dealing with things as they come. One at a time. It means doing something day in, day out. Regularly, even when you don’t feel it. For me that means writing. I am only happy if I am working on a writing project. Short stories are a nice breather for me but a novel is what I aspire to. No hall of fame is necessary but writing is a passion. Determination is a huge part of diligence. Sometimes that means working ahead but usually it means duck and weave. It means staying late and not settling. Persistence when all you can see is uphill. One. step. at. a. time. Determining that you will, regardless of circumstances.

It is easy when doing something great, to settle for good or fun. To look at dumb websites, like this and this. But really  I need to be writing. And if that means putting one word in front of the next, so be it. If that means paying the fees to enter writing into contests. Sometimes it means carving time out of things that are fun or good in order to write. You want to sleep? Too bad. Up you get and write.

“The beginning is half of every action.” – Greek Proverb

What should you be doing that you aren’t? What are you putting off? What do you want to be doing that you aren’t?

Image by wonenownlee

Leave a comment